The future is nearer than we think

Rick here. I started playing with voice recognition/dictation in Office 03 yesterday, and it really is amazing. It is very easy to use and surprisingly exact. It’s like Star Trek come to life!

It won’t change the way I write, because my speaking brain is not connected to my writing muse, but it will change the way I transcribe notes. Which is very cool indeed, as I have always hated that part.

 

Anyway, I decided to see what would happen if we had to depend on initial (uncorrected) voice-recognition  in everyday life. You can, too. Look at this list of familar lines from Star Trek to see how well the computer interpreted them. And when you see a line that doesn’t make any sense, see if you can guess what the original line I dictated was.

 

Declare war on the klingons

Warp factor five

Beam me up study

Make it so

Engage

I’m sensing great anger, captain

That is not logical

As you are so fond of reminding me, I am not human

This ship wasn’t built to take a work nineteen

What is that thing?

Set freezers to stun

Fire after pinos!

What’s in god’s name me is that?

Second start of the left

All subspace frequencies are jammed captain

Where they’ll be no trouble at all

Captain’s log started 90210

if he has the time!

I’m a doctor, not a bricklayer.

These of the voyages of the starship enterprise

Initiate self destruct sequence

Ratios!

Firefighters

Somehow, Katey survives.

One Response to “The future is nearer than we think”

  1. Geoff Says:

    I really like, “Set freezers to stun”

Leave a Reply

